bitguru blog

a guru of bits, or just a bit player?

All Above 31

Posted by bitguru on August 29, 2007

Amazingly, all the balls in yesterday’s $250 million Mega Millions drawing were above 31. As I mentioned before, this had happened only four times before in the fifteen-year history of the Powerball and Mega Millions lotteries.

The winning numbers were 37, 40, 48, 53, 56, with Megaball 44.

I did have a ticket for this drawing, even though I only buy a couple lottery tickets a year. All the numbers on my ticket were above 31, as usual, but I matched only two balls: 37 and 40.

Nobody matched all six balls, so I wasn’t the only loser. The prize pool rolls over to Friday’s drawing, with an estimated jackpot of $325 million ($191 million cash value).

2 Responses to “All Above 31”

  1. Alan Cole said

    So would I be better off buying a custom ticket with all numbers higher (or lower, mox nix) than 31 on the 1 hand, or on the other hand saving the effort by just letting the 7-Eleven PowerBall machine pick my numbers for me?

  2. Maximus said

    I would like to see a continuation of the topic

Leave a Reply

 
