bitguru blog

a guru of bits, or just a bit player?

Folding the Nuts

Posted by bitguru on October 16, 2007

Earlier today I was playing 5¢-10¢ no-limit hold’em with a three-dollar cap.

My hole cards are 7d 9d. I decide to call the 10¢ blind on the button with these suited gappers. Four players to the flop.

The flop is 4d 6d 3d. It’s checked around to me, and I bet the pot with my made flush. Two callers.

The turn is another diamond, darn it. Now my 9-high flush is vulnerable to any high diamond. It’s checked to me and I check also.

The river is a high heart, a blank for this hand. The first player bets out $1.50, slightly more than the pot. The second player raises to $2.55, the cap. Obviously my 9-high flush is no good, so I fold.

The first player shows Kd 8d for a king-high flush. It turns out my 9-high flush on the flop was no good anyway.

The second player shows 2d for a six-high straight flush. You see, that diamond on the turn was the 5d. When I saw that it was a diamond, I didn’t even look at its value. But I should have because that means I folded a seven-high straight flush on the turn. Argh.

I was distracted by what was going on in another window at the time, but that’s not much of an excuse for making the worst fold of my life. I’m glad it didn’t cost me more than it did. $6.45 is a lot for small-stakes me, but at least I can afford it.

here’s the hand history:

Full Tilt Poker Game #3875199895: Table Ruby Red (6 max) – $0.05/$0.10 – $3 Cap No Limit Hold’em – 18:15:30 ET – 2007/10/16
Seat 2: randocious ($10.95)
Seat 3: MAILMAN74048 ($5.50)
Seat 4: Mike Helfin ($4.45)
Seat 5: bitguru ($2.40)
Seat 6: Texas North ($8.65)
Texas North posts the small blind of $0.05
randocious posts the big blind of $0.10
The button is in seat #5

*** HOLE CARDS ***
Dealt to bitguru [7d 9d]
MAILMAN74048 calls $0.10
Mike Helfin calls $0.10
bitguru calls $0.10
Texas North folds
randocious checks

*** FLOP *** [4d 6d 3d]
randocious checks
MAILMAN74048 checks
Mike Helfin checks
bitguru bets $0.35
randocious folds
MAILMAN74048 calls $0.35
Mike Helfin calls $0.35
*** TURN *** [4d 6d 3d] [5d]
MAILMAN74048 checks
Mike Helfin checks
bitguru checks

*** RIVER *** [4d 6d 3d 5d] [Kh]
MAILMAN74048 bets $1.50
Mike Helfin raises to $2.55, and is capped
bitguru folds
MAILMAN74048 calls $1.05, and is capped

*** SHOW DOWN ***
Mike Helfin shows [2d 4h] a straight flush, Six high
MAILMAN74048 mucks
Mike Helfin wins the pot ($5.95) with a straight flush, Six high

*** SUMMARY ***
Total pot $6.60 | Rake $0.65
Board: [4d 6d 3d 5d Kh]
Seat 2: randocious (big blind) folded on the Flop
Seat 3: MAILMAN74048 mucked [8d Kd] – a flush, King high
Seat 4: Mike Helfin showed [2d 4h] and won ($5.95) with a straight flush, Six high
Seat 5: bitguru (button) folded on the River
Seat 6: Texas North (small blind) folded before the Flop

2 Responses to “Folding the Nuts”

  1. luckystraights said

    I think I would have beat myself up, never even had a straight flush yet so folding one by mistake would probably give me a fit, heart attack or worse lol

    Folded jacks earlier pre-flop, but that pails into consideration of this. Just a shame no one had a higher straight flush then you so you could brag that you made the worlds best fold.

  2. Haha, I remember telling you you had the straight flush, haha, i can’t believe you didn’t notice. See you around buddy.

Leave a Reply

 
